Skip to content ↓
Whinless Down Academy

Whinless Down Academy

Protected Characteristics


The Equality Act 2010 aims to prevent discrimination. It is illegal to discriminate against people based on nine protected characteristics:

  • age

  • disability

  • gender reassignment

  • marriage and civil partnership

  • pregnancy and maternity

  • race: can refer to colour, nationality, ethnic or national origins

  • religion or belief: can refer to religious or philosophical beliefs, including a lack of belief

  • sex: refers to a person's gender

  • sexual orientation

No form of discrimination is tolerated at Whinless Down Academy, but it is particularly important that children are taught about these protected characteristic groups and the importance of showing respect to people within these groups.

We address this in a number of ways, such as through our carefully timetabled assemblies and daily 'time to talk' sessions that address carefully selected themes and ideas around these areas. We also ensure that our curriculum is planned and delivered in order that children learn about these protected characteristics in an age-appropriate manner, this is supported by our Question-based PSHE curriculum and carefully selected key texts which support the teaching and learning of PSHE.  Please see our PSHE curriculum map below which shows the different PSHE topics that include teaching of these protected characteristics across the school. 

In summary, these are the areas within our PSHE curriculum that you will find the protected characteristics taught:

Characteristics table